I started learning music theory not long ago, I've learnt how a major scale is constructed, you take a root note and then you choose next notes with this formula(?!) wwhwwwh where w is whole step and h is half step. now i'm on major pentatonic scales and all you have to do to "create" major pentatonic scale is to take 4th and 6th notes from a normal major scale and you get a maj. pentatonic scale... what I don't get is that finger movements are all the same, you just have to move up and down fretboard to play any scale? that's it? I thought it would take more work if that's it.
Last edited by luffy1999 at Nov 21, 2015,
well, for any specific position of a scale, yes, you can move the "shape" around to change key.

But a scale isn't just a finger pattern, it's a set of notes. You might notice that there are a lot more notes on the guitar than you play in any one or two octave run of a scale.

The most thorough way to practice scales is to play every scale note on the guitar, even if it means starting and ending on something other than the root. For example, when I practice C major, I start it like:

e-------------------------------1-3-5-
B-------------------------1-3-5------
G-------------------0-2-4------------
D-------------0-2-3----------------
A-------0-2-3-----------------------
E-0-1-3----------------------------

And then move up to the next position and descend, move up and ascend again, etc to the end of the fretboard and then turn around and go back down in a different key. That way you hit every C major note on the guitar instead and know where they are, even when you're not playing finger patterns.
Last edited by cdgraves at Nov 21, 2015,
thanks for the good tips cdgraves but i don't get one thing, how is that C major scale if it neither starts nor ends with C note?
Quote by luffy1999
thanks for the good tips cdgraves but i don't get one thing, how is that C major scale if it neither starts nor ends with C note?