Hey all, apologies for asking something that's probably been covered a million times. I could just use some advice right now.

I've been playing for a little over two years now. I bought a book and learned some basic stuff using that, and also went through most of the Justin Guitar Beginner Course (I bought the beginner song book as well).

However, once I got to where I could play most chords I came across cleanly (enough), I just started playing songs I like to listen to. Now most chord changes aren't a problem, most rhythm's aren't a problem, power chords too, and I can play some basic melodies (recently started playing 'My name is Jonas' by Weezer).

I've found that I'd MUCH rather just play around with songs I like to listen to then actually sit down and learn technique, and have not been motivated to look at any of the lessons in my book or Justin in a long time.

So here's where the question comes in:

I currently play on a steel string acoustic Yamaha that I bought about a year ago and like to play it most of the time. However I find myself wishing for an electric a lot. I love alternative music and think it would be fun to play some of these songs on an actual electric instead of trying to make them work on an acoustic.

I feel kind of weird about it though. Like my skill level isn't high enough to justify it.

I have no intentions of ever being in a band; I play strictly for myself. Would I be better off just sticking with my acoustic?

Thanks for any advice.
As someone who's been playing for a long time there's nothing wrong with picking up a guitar you like and that will not only inspire to play & practice, but also grow with you as your style and technique develop. You certainly don't need anyone's approval. Have fun
Quote by Tony Done
If you want to play electric, go for it.

That's pretty much it. Acoustic and electric are actually fairly different to play anyway. So you're never gonna not suck if you don't actually start playing on one