All, I know this is probably such a silly question to be asking a group that is probably well beyond this challenge... but there is no such thing as a silly question:

Background: Ive been playing guitar for a couple of years now and am excited by what I can play... but my strumming hand just cannot keep rhythm when my mouth opens... Ive just started to break this problem down and now keep a beat with my foot, and then use an overly simplistic strumming pattern (only chorded songs - Knocking on Heavens Door is a good un). Ive started to be able to sing, but its still a challenge.

Can I get some expert advice on how to get past this mental block and start singing whilst I play?

Much Appreciated'

Patch
I'm definitely no expert, but I can share how I got through the mental block. I just happened to be in my first band at the time, so naturally we played in a small room where it was way too loud to distinguish much of anything. This gave me the perfect place to practice playing and singing because nobody could hear how terribly I was messing up, and it gave me confidence to keep doing it. It sucked for a while but over time it became easier. Honestly, bottom line, I think it's like anything else, practice makes perfect.
Just keep working on it. It's just like learning chords, eventually it'll get easier.
Listen to how the guitar and vocal parts work together. What notes are sung and played at the same time? Slow it down.

Of course you also need to know the guitar and vocal parts really well. So learn them separately first.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115