Here's an issue I've been having ever since I started playing guitar about two months ago and was partially a consequence of learning through Rocksmith.

I have no trouble whatsoever playing continuous chord progressions and chord solos, but when it comes to solos that involve single note fretting on multiple strings, I hit a bit of a roadblock. It sounds strange, but I only feel comfortable fretting notes with exclusively my pointer finger.

For example, I love the famous riff from Blink-182's 'Dammit,' but I can't bring myself to use more than my pointer finger, so I end up getting a lot of unwanted string noise and dirty-sounding notes. How can I go about training myself to use more than one finger on the strings, especially with this song?

Thanks in advance!

-Noah
Quote by TheAviator1997
Here's an issue I've been having ever since I started playing guitar about two months ago and was partially a consequence of learning through Rocksmith.

I have no trouble whatsoever playing continuous chord progressions and chord solos, but when it comes to solos that involve single note fretting on multiple strings, I hit a bit of a roadblock. It sounds strange, but I only feel comfortable fretting notes with exclusively my pointer finger.

For example, I love the famous riff from Blink-182's 'Dammit,' but I can't bring myself to use more than my pointer finger, so I end up getting a lot of unwanted string noise and dirty-sounding notes. How can I go about training myself to use more than one finger on the strings, especially with this song?

Thanks in advance!

-Noah

By using the other fingers. Seriously bro, there's no other way around it. Other tips that may help you:

- Start by playing the song/riff/solo/whatever VERY slow and increase the tempo a little bit as you practice.
- Use a metronome.
- Divide the solo by parts.
- Learn how to mute the strings properly. There are tons of vids on this subject on youtube.