Okay, I was going into this with a dreamy "I'm gonna be open to everything." And, as beneficial as that could be, I think I finally hit a revelation point with my direction. Still bouncing some ideas off people. Anyway, I'm definitely looking at something on the harder edge of music. I've played around with the Vox VT40. Nice amp, lots of options, but when it came to metal-ly things, didn't have the sound I was looking for. And I've played around with a few other options as well. Last time I went to Guitar Center, I sat down with a Line 6 Spider 15W, and I loved the controls and the sound. I'd like something a little higher power, so I'm looking at either a used 112 or Spider II/III 75W.

Both can be had under $100 used, and while I'd love to spend all the money I can, the fact is, the cheaper it is will be an easier sell to the wife. (And, maybe, I can sweet talk my way into a Schecter Omen.)

Right, now, either the 112 or Spider II/III 75W is plenty, however, since I'm still new at this, and considering my aim, would there be something else to consider? I almost bought a 112, but then, I'm trying to convey that I'm a responsible adult.

Thanks for bearing with me, UG.
The Spider has a bad reputation and to be honest there is some validity to it. I currently have a Spider IV 75 watt and it's pretty good for the higher gain stuff. If you like the tones you got out of the Spider amps you have tried, trust your ears. I would recommend picking up a used Spider IV rather than one of the older models. Line 6's modelling has improved by quite a bit over the years.

I have had a Fender Super Champ X2, Fender Mustang 1 v2 and a Vox VT120+ before I traded them and to be honest my Spider IV holds its own.

My biggest criticism of the Spider amps is you really need to buy the footswitch to unlock the real power of the amp.
"We all have idols. Play like anyone you care about but try to be yourself while you're doing so." - BB King