Hi guys. So ive been playing acoutic guitar for a few years now, been looking at electrics for a couple months and decided to take the dive, going with either a tele or strat, maybe a g&l asat, i like to play punk, classic rock, acid rock, stuff like that. My question to you all is, do i go with a semi budget tube amp and use the rest of my $1400ish for guitar and pedals, or buy a nicer amp and head, ditch the pedals, and go a few months with just amp and guitar and get pedals next summer when im out of my classes and can save my extra income to build up my pedals? Thank you all, and btw only new gear, ive had some bad experiences with used acoustics in the past.
So your budget is 1400 for everything?

You don't necessarily have to make that decision now. You can get a fantastic guitar and amp for 1400 or less. You might try a few and find a rig that works great for 1200, and then you can spend the rest on pedals.

Actually, for your first amp, it would be smart to get a modeling amp. That way you can start to develop a preference for amp and effect types, without buying individual units. The Peavey Vypyr tube amps or the Line 6 Spider Valve (not the regular Spider series!) or DT or Amplifi are all good modelers. Most of those should leave you plenty of budget left for a good guitar.
Thanks lppon, yeah, im. thinking that might be a better route for me. and Roc, while i get why youd recommend a modeling amp, even the tube modelers ive demoed havent really impressed me and i play with such little variance in the tones ill be using i dont see a need for the models if that makes sense. Ive been looking at the Egnater Tweaker 40 head with bugera 212ts because i like the turbosound speakers. and the egnater head will give me plenty of gain and can still dial in the vintage-esque tube overdrive i like on some songs.