Hi! I would say im a fairly decent guitarist, an ok singer with a good ear and a bunch of theory knowlege. I can practice the two themselves, but if i practice a song i want to sing and play at the same time, i get very often frustrated and do something else. It can be an fairly easy song, but its something that just dont click for me. I think this is because i dont have any good plan of how to go about learning a new song. It would be nice just to sing some songs at parties etc, because people always ask me, and i often end up just getting embarrased. Dont get me wrong, im not doing this for anybody else, i want to learn it myself too. So if you are learning to play and sing a fairly simple song, what are the steps you usally do?
I'm only a part-time singer (thanks for that line Chet!) but I've found if I can play a song without thinking about it very much that I can sing. On stuff that I still have to concentrate on the playing my singing suffers (except for punk, in which case it doesn't matter as long as you are having fun). Learn the song well enough to play it on auto pilot then concentrate on the vocals.

Hope that helps. My apology if it doesn't.
Sometimes it's just really hard. Even easy songs like seven nation army or jaded by green day are hard.

There are some ways to make it easier though. Tapping your foot always helps. Keeping your hand in motion helps too sometimes. Jaded again is a good example. It's an eighth note rhythm, and it goes 1 & _ & 3 _ 4 _. Now do all down strokes, and on those _'s mute the strings and hit a percussive strum. This will keep your hand in motion and also sounds cool. Get this way of playing it down to the point it's like being on autopilot. Then just go for it and see if you can sing it at the same time. If you can't you gotta "map" the sung notes to the chords. But that shouldn't be too hard if you play it the way I suggested