I'm 17 year old musician and I feel like I have spoiled myself/been spoiled. I have been playing guitar for almost 12 years. I have 7 guitars, some I have built myself, but none of any large value. 3 pretty good amps, didn't pay anything over $400. Almost all of my stuff I bought while it was on sale (deal chaiser). I have also gotten some stuff for birthdays and Christmas, but I can't help but feel spoiled for having so much gear. My situation is a little different since my dad is also a musician and we have stuff that we kinda share. Did any of you or do you have this much stuff at this age?
I started playing around the same age you did, was professional at 11 (wedding receptions at the local legion hall) on a Hammond B3 and a Fender Rhodes 88. In those days that was about five grand worth of gear (much more now). By your age I was on tour with a pair of custom-built Leslies and a nine-piece band with a 48-passenger schoolbus, and we owned our own building (practice down in the boiler room, common area on the first floor, individual rooms on the second floor and the third floor was rented to day sleeping shift workers. Parents paid for the B3, I paid for the Rhodes and everything else.
I got most of my stuff used from my own money, a few things as gifts or from gift money. And deal chasing is universal. How you get your stuff is something most people don't make a big deal of. Compared to the people I play with I'm a bit more endowed with my own funds but no one's ever made a point of it since we've always melded regardless. It also has to do with how much you put towards it. In high school my friend had a car and no amp, I had a VK212, several high end pedals, my old guitar and several part upgrades, and no car. And quantity isn't really a measure of being spoiled. Currently I've a friend who has multiple project guitars while I have a charvel so-cal. Point being it's all about what you can do with what you've got.