Hey!! I am new to fingerstyling.. I have a doubt related to fingernails required for this...
I normally practice fingerstyling with three fingers (Index, Middle and Ring) but I face some difficulty as I am unable to pickup speed.. So I thought that my nails are pretty large.. Can any of you can take a look at the attachment and tell the ideal nails size for fingerstyling..? A picture of your nails will be appreciated..
Moved to Acoustic/Classical

Basically, your nails are too long.
My God, it's full of stars!
I guess it depends on the person, but my nails are much shorter than that. It depends I think whether you play classical or acoustic as well.

For me, my nails are roughly the same on each hand. You would never notice by looking, but my left are a bit different from my right, if you really went and inspected them. My nails don't stick out the tips of my fingers. I use all 4 fingers, though not for speed runs. For speed, I use 3. Definitely nails matter, but for me, going fast needed a technique revision also.

If my nails get even a bit too long, I won't like it, and my playing will suffer slightly. Nails like that would also prevent me from being able to fingertap, and play piano, so there's no way I could ever keep them that long anyway.

It's really personal preference. Cutting your nails might be better for you, but also, cutting your nails might not immediately make you a faster player, even though having them shorter might be necessary for you to get up to speed.

Your technique for short nails will definitely need to be different to long nails of course also. So you will need a little adjustment there.
Last edited by fingrpikingood at Dec 5, 2015,
my nails are nowhere near that long - i'd say they're about half as long - and when they grow too long, i do find it makes playing a bit harder. shorter nails might help your speed, but the rest is all about practice, practice, practice.
Quote by Skeet UK