I've been playing acoustic for about 18 months and I just bought a Squier CV Strat. I also picked up a Marshall MG30CFX amp. I am a total rookie with the electric and just beginning to experiment and find tones. I am having a problem with noise.

Whenever I have the pick up selector in positions 1,3, or 5 (single pick up selections) I am getting a fair bit of noise. It increases as I turn to face the amp. When I have the selector in the 2 or 4 positions I get no noise.

I find that if I am turned in just the right position, with the neck of the guitar pointed just ahead of parallel with the amp I get little or no noise in the 1, 3, or 5 position. I did not experience this problem in the store, and when I plug into my instructor's 10W Fender practice amp I don't have this problem. Same goes for his Mustang 100W. No problem.

For the time being it's not a big deal two stay on the 2 or 4 selections for the pick ups, but I'd like to get this figured out.

I'm sure you might advise to go get a Fender amp, but I'd like to work out what is going on with my Marshall.

I'd really appreciate any advice you can provide.

Thanks

Johnny V
You've got singlecoil pickups. They pick up mains hum and suchlike, the occasional Greek radio broadcast if you're lucky; it's part of the experience. I get the same through a £700 guitar and a £900 amp. The difference you've observed between different amps is most likely due to location rather than the amps themselves.

Positions 2 and 4 are wired so as to cancel hum; with one singlecoil on its own there's nothing you can really do about it except get a noise gate if it bothers you enough.
Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
Youre officially uber shit now.

Quote by StewieSwan
3d9310rd is far more upset than i 

Quote by Bladez22
I'm a moron tho apparently and everyone should listen to you oh wise pretentious one