And I've been an Ibanez guy for years. But here's the rub - I haven't had my hands on any newer (post 2002ish) Ibanez models. I know they've been good for taking a 300-400 dollar guitar in the past that's pretty much a body/neck, and throwing new electronics and hardware on it, but I don't know about them anymore - I'm just getting back into playing seriously after a near to ten year hiatus. So I'm looking for input, and just buying used isn't an option as I don't have transportation at the moment. Buying unseen makes me nervous, but if I go with a major online retailer, I can send it back if there's a problem and have it handled.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/RG421RWBCF

This is like what I'm looking for - pretty much a body and neck with cheese hardware I can upgrade to end up with a good, solid guitar. But again, I have no experience with Ibanez's newer mod-friendly guitars, and their lineup has changed... dramatically since the last time I was actively playing. Apparently, it's all active pickups and 'iron label' now. Not a fan of actives... My only real preference is fixed bridge.

So opinions, other suggestions - both welcome.

“We’re built of contradictions, all of us. It’s those opposing forces that give us strength, like an arch, each block pressing the next. Give me a man whose parts are all aligned in agreement and I’ll show you madness. We walk a narrow path, insanity to each side. A man without contradictions to balance him will soon veer off.”

silentfall.bandcamp.com
Last edited by an.interloper at Dec 13, 2015,