I wasn't sure where to post this.

Me and the keyboard player in our band are looking to get a unique sound on the keyboards.
I'm thinking about bands like "tangled thoughts of leaving", "sleep party people" or even the sound in "1901 from Phoenix" (more mainstream haha:p). I'm guessing it's more of a synthesizer thing?

SUggestions for a cheap synthesizer to experiment with it?

Now we use a basic "Piano" sound on the keyboards... We want to get a mor eunique sound. Maybe experiment with pedals on it?
You do know that you can basically synthesized whatever you need on a laptop, then plug your keyboard into it and play the patch out from it, right?
No :p We are keyboard-newbz. I'm a guitarist/drummer and our keyboard player is classical trained ^^

But still, can you refer to some tutorials then? Are you talking about a recording that you can simply record and play? Like a speech or train sound (as an example). That's not what we need.

Or do you mean you can get a whole bunch of sounds online and import them on a keyboard?
Quote by GoldenGuitar
You do know that you can basically synthesized whatever you need on a laptop, then plug your keyboard into it and play the patch out from it, right?

I'm curious to whether or not you have any live experience with doing this. Many people make that suggestion, but then admit to having never done it live. By live, that just means anything where you are playing in real time with other musicians, even if you're just jamming in the basement.

I've played keys in a few bands over the years, so been there, done that. I've never had the best experience with it. The main problem is that you are introducing a whole bunch of extra variables. Variables in setups are bad since more things means more things to fail potentially.