I'm not in a band,
I do not write / compose / record music
I am newer player (only a couple years)
I mostly play stuff from Slipknot, Trivium, All That Remains, Killswitch Engage, Children of Bodom, Metallica, and Pantera.

I've been trying to figure out if buying a 7 string would be beneficial based on the kind of stuff I like to play. I'm just a bedroom hobbyist player and currently I have a couple 6 strings, one that's tuned to drop C which I do like but I'm wondering if having a 7 string would be better than a low tuned 6 string.

What do you guys think?
if you want to play in B or Drop A or lower than Yeah if it'll be easier than tuning that low on a 6 string.
if not then no. just depends whether you'll benefit from the 7th string
Gear:

Gibson lpj
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Epiphone Les Paul 1960's Tribute Plus
Schecter s-1
Marshall JCM900 100WATT HEAD
Fender mustang 1
Dunlop Crybaby
Danelectro Distortion
Tanglewood exotic electro acoustic
Westfield Bass
Of all the bands that you mentioned, I do believe that Trivium are the only ones to use a 7, and they have only used them on a couple of records thus far. Sounds to me like you would just be better off staying with a 6. Unless you score a 7 string at a decent price just to see if you like it or it serves its purpose for you.
Gibson LP traditional and DC standard, PRS S2 Custom 24, MIA Standard Strat, Charvel So Cal Pro Mod, Schecter Banshee 7
EVH 5153, Mesa DR Tremoverb combo 2-2x12's
Line 6 M13
I'm pretty sure most of the band you mentioned use 6 strings tuned to drop B. Also, the last thing you want to do is buy a cheap 7 string (Unless it's cheap because it's used).
Quote by KyleZamory
I'm pretty sure most of the band you mentioned use 6 strings tuned to drop B. Also, the last thing you want to do is buy a cheap 7 string (Unless it's cheap because it's used).

Yeah that's my dilemma because I would not buy a cheap one.
Quote by bobafettacheese