I have been playing guitar off and on for about 10 years now. I never seem to get any better but stay about the same. I'm really good at rhythm and know some chords but I am terrible at finger picking and tabs. Do you have any advice?? Is there a certain way to play tabs to make them easier? Tips for finger picking?
Download one of the tab players, like Tuxguitar, and find a few simple tabs that will play in it by Googling "[song name] tab". I can't recall which ones will open with Tux, but several of them will. They aren't all particularly good quality, but you can slow the tempo down and get the idea.

I personally haven't got the patience for Youtube tuition vids, but some folks find them useful.

I tll beginners to think of alternating bass/Travis style fingerpicking as a series of thumb-finger pinches and alternates, rather than as the thumb playing rhythm and the fingers playing lead. - I think it is easier initially to see it a simple finger mechanics rather than as rhythm and lead.
Quote by Tony Done
find a few simple tabs that will play in it by Googling "[song name] tab".

What I don't get is why exactly do you need to look it up on Google when this website is primarily a tablature archive?
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
Quote by theogonia777
What I don't get is why exactly do you need to look it up on Google when this website is primarily a tablature archive?

Considering 99% of sites contain the exact same tabs with the exact same errors... I'd say don't bother looking up tabs anywhere
^^^^ True, there isn't much variation, but I do a search anyway. - It isn't a big deal, compared with the effort of actually learning it.

FWIW, I do the same thing when learning by ear I look up a few different versions to get ideas. - I found a ripper version of "One too many mornings"a couple of days ago, Julie Felix and John Renbourn
Last edited by Tony Done at Dec 16, 2015,
Quote by cdgraves