For the past (5?) years I've used nothing but my line6 pod for practice. (。ŏ﹏ŏ Now that it's dead I'm replacing it with a guitar link (recording) and a cute<3 amp (practice). I have no experience with amps so please bear with me.

Budget: ~$140-175 (terrible)

Low watt guitar amp (15??). Headphone jack (must!). My dorm is very quiet and the walls are thin so I probably won't use the speakers that often.

I will use it for metal but clarity is very important to me. Distortion (must!).

I'm thinking of a modeling amp so I can do more experimenting haha.. like line 6 spyders..? But vanilla practice amp is what I just basically need too.

I will try your suggestions if I find them in stores around here, I just need suggestions to start with. ~Thanku for reading~ (⌯⌅⌄⌅
Last edited by reliqua at Dec 18, 2015,
THR10X? It's a 10W modeling amp, small size is easy in a dorm room, has a headphone jack, and can be used as an interface via USB for recording. Can probably find a used one on eBay in your price range. Check it out.
Vox Valvetronix V20+. They're in your budget, good tone all around. Distortion in amp and with modeling effects. Modeling amp, lots of effects. Has a headphone jack. Fully adjustable wattage, minimum of 3 watts, max of 30. Hybrid tube and solid state.
Vox VT, Roland Cube, Peavey Vypyr are all solid low cost practice amps. Give em a look.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
Honestly, I'd buy another POD (or similar device from Korg, Boss, Tascam, etc.) and save up money to get a decent amp down the road for when you have fewer concerns about disturbing your neighbors.