I guess the term would be "chord resolution", but I'm also trying to figure out the other parts besides the resolution.

I'm mainly just looking for how most people go about learning how to write good progressions. Every site/book/video I've seen just lists off a bunch off commonly used progressions which is no help to me because it doesn't teach me WHY they work. I want to know why that one chorus just sounds so good. (Breaking Benjamin's song "Breath" pretty much inspired this post. I wish I could ask their guitarist how he learned chord progressions.)

This is mostly with regards to rock/metal. How would say, a rock guitarist go about learning how chord progressions really work?

(Disclaimer: I am not a beginner)
Last edited by Hardlycore at Dec 17, 2015,
I find that writing out the notes and seeing what's actually going on from chord to chord helps out quite a bit in understanding the relation between individual notes.

Get a list of common or popular chord progressions and then write them out in whatever key you like (C or Am works well since there aren't any sharps or flats to worry about).

For example, in jazz there's a popular progression called the ii V I progression.

C Major: C, D, E, F, G, A, B so the ii is Dm7, the V is G7 (G dominant 7) and the I is obviously CM7

In jazz (and really just about any kind of music) they add extensions so chords aren't so plain and it can also help strengthen the connection between chords so that's why I'm using 7th chords

ii V I
D G C
F B E
A D G
C F B

From here, I'm not going to use any music theory (you can but I like understanding the spacing between notes first before I apply theory since it helps me understand the music theory better once I understand the spacing between notes)

So from Dm7 to G7, we see that they share two notes: D & F, but besides that A & C are moving down to G & B, each moving down one note in the scale of C major (A down to G and C down to B)