Hello everybody !

Ok, so I'm lefty and I've been playing guitar for around three years, mainly metal stuff. I use wrist motions most of the time (with some forearms moves), and my picking hand position is okay I think, it's more about the way to hold the pick which is my "problem".

I almost always used the same way to hold my pick during all these years, and I had quite good results. But I always thought that the way I was holding it sucked.
Like... I've seen many videos and tutorials about the way to hold it, and they all had that kind of 'classic' way that I didn't have which seems to fit the best ! (between the thumb pad and the index side/pad).

It's not like a massive difference, but still, it always seemed weird and not "right". Here is how I was holding it (between the thumb pad with an angle and a position between the index side and index pad) :

It looks like a mix between "Thumb pad / index pad" and "Thumb pad / index side" positions.

For leads, I always felt like I didn't fully control my pick, the picking was okay but unconsistent (like 10-20% of the time it stucks in strings. I don't know, it's not even too much tension or something else, it's just random resistance against the strings from times to times... so nothing was really perfect and that bored me. But I was like... "Mmh, everybody holds it its way I guess, so I will keep practice this way. Fuck that. I probably just need more and more annnnd more practice ! :P"

But that's been several months where I've been really questionning myself more technically about this, and it has always bored me even if I could play quite okay. I practiced trying to fix these strings resistance and control things but that still sucked. It's like this problem is keeping me from my "next guitar level/goals".