I'm sure this question has been asked more times than anyone can count by now, but as a newcomer to home recording, I wanted to bring it up yet again.

I was recently watching a tutorial that recommended the Focusrite 2i2. I currently own a Line 6 UX2 that I purchased a few years ago. Am I correct in thinking that they essentially play the same role in the recording process? If so, are there any notable differences between them? My understanding of the specification language is basic so I'm struggling to work out which is superior.

Just to clarify, I would use the equipment to record guitar (American-made Fender Telecaster), bass (Warwick Rock Bass Corvette) and vocals.

I'd love to hear people's personal experiences with either hardware or suggestions of superior equipment. As said, I'm relatively new to this and I'd really appreciate the feedback. I know that this question may be somewhat vague as I wasn't sure what else to include so if anyone needs any extra information about my setup and such, let me know and I'll do my best to oblige!
My personal experience with the UX2 is that it sucks. My experience with Focusrite stuff, however, has been quite positive.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
Quote by diabolical
I'd say they're pretty close, just look at prices.
If you go up a notch you might get better quality preamps as in RME, etc.

This is true, my apollo has really nice pres.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400
Audient iD22 interface
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden