I've been playing for a few years and I'm still not that great, so I want to get into more technical stuff. What can I do to get better? I've been practicing spider octaves (I think that's what they're called) and playing with a metronome. I'm not sure if either of those will really help. Please post whatever you have, I need all the help I can get!

Also, would I be able to learn enough on my own or would it be better to get a teacher?

Thanks.
There are many things that add up towards good technique. The most important ones are:

Lastly patience, technique take time. I don't think technical playing should be a study subject within itself when learning music. Learn music, if it happens to be technical so be it, but make sure you always make everything effortless. Practice at a slow tempo so you can do it, the playing is what matters.
    Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
    “If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
    "Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
    The right teacher definitely can be helpful. For exactly your problem. Looking at what you're doing, knowing what you should work on. A good teacher, imo, will see your strengths and weaknesses, will know where you want to go, and will be able to show you a good logical order of things to learn, because they know what they are, and their benefits, and they'll be able to explain to you why you're learning what you're learning.

When you ask a question like your first post, you are asking the forum to be your teacher. You will have all sorts of players at all sorts of levels, with all sorts of strengths and weaknesses, with all sorts of answers giving you a reply.