Got an Epi LP a little over a month ago. The other day I was reading about intonation, and decided to check it on my LP via a Digitech Hardwire Tuner Pedal. On most strings it seems a bit sharp on the 12th fret (~1/3 to 1/2 way to the right 'edge' on the tuner, so say about a 1/4 of the way to the next step up - F in the case of the low E, for instance). Is this even far enough off to bother messing with?

I've never tried this before, but watched a few videos and read up on it and it seems simple enough. The only weird thing is the screws are actually under the strings (pointed back up the neck), but I should be able to reach in there with a small screwdriver.

Also, I picked up the guitar the other day and it was way out of tune (after a couple of days of not playing). If the intonation is set right, will it minimize the guitar getting out of tune between playing sessions? This article seems to imply so:
http://www.deanmarkley.com/multimedia/instructions-index/how-to-keep-your-guitar-in-tune

Any other tips / comments / etc...?
Quote by lmychajluk
Is this even far enough off to bother messing with?

It's up to you.
Also, I picked up the guitar the other day and it was way out of tune (after a couple of days of not playing). If the intonation is set right, will it minimize the guitar getting out of tune between playing sessions?

No. Intonating a guitar to play in tune assumes that the open notes are also in tune. Intonating the guitar is pointless otherwise.

The reason your guitar keeps going out of tune is most likely either changes in temperature, a poorly cut nut, or the guitar not being strung properly. Quite possibly all 3 things are causing the problem.
Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
I also have to do that. Cottaging this weekend
Last edited by T00DEEPBLUE at Dec 23, 2015,
Quote by lmychajluk at #33742848