Hello everyone.

I have been playing guitar for about 8 years now, but only acoustic guitar. I recently started electric guitar, because I really love rock songs. Especially 70's, 80's rock - like Guns 'n Roses.

I have an Aria STG-series electric guitar, with a Laney LX12 amp (I think it's either 10 or 15 watt)

I'm really battling to get that awesome rock sound with this equipment. But now my question is, is it just that I'm not used to playing electric guitar, so I must work on a certain technique, or do I need better equipment? If so should I then invest in a new amp, or a new guitar, and any suggestions on an affordable one to get? I'm just going to be playing at home for now, so I don't think I need a huge amp or something like that.
I'd think your amp should work for those sounds, it just won't sound the best.

Honestly you should look at a decent modeling amp like the Vox VT, Fender Mustang, Peavey Vypyr. also an amp with a 12" speaker will sound much better than the same amp with a 8" speaker, so look for an amp with a 12" speaker in it.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
^ yeah

and is the aria a strat-style guitar? a bridge humbucker really helps to get those rockier type sounds as well.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3