I have a friend who runs professional sound and he says a lot of regional acts rent amps and just bring their guitars and maybe pedal boards. Do any of you have experience with this and if so, does the tone change from gig to gig affect your playing? I think it would mine.
Quote by AxSlngr
I have a friend who runs professional sound and he says a lot of regional acts rent amps and just bring their guitars and maybe pedal boards. Do any of you have experience with this and if so, does the tone change from gig to gig affect your playing? I think it would mine.

I have played a few tours where on certain dates they provided a backline and I hated those gigs. I don't mind if they provide the cabs as long as they are decent, but I hate using amps that I have little to no experience playing through.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Quote by AxSlngr

While I definitely prefer the sound of my own set up, I can handle a backline provided it's not a terrible set up. I should really add a solid heavy distortion pedal to my set up, something that I can play some real hard rock on a Fender twin backline, but right now I have my own pedal board that I can plug into any amp and get a solid sound out. I prefer my amp, but If its a crammed bar or something I dont need it. I can even go ampless with my IEM, but I prefer some sort of amp.

Im flying to florida for a string of shows and im just bringing a guitar and a pedal board. Sadly Im leaving my wireless at home. and my IEMs :/
Splawn Street Rod
H&K Tubemeister 5
Line 6 G90 System

Gibson SG Standard
Godin Radiator
Dillion 653 GA/3CT
Seagull Coastline s6
New Music on Spotify
Quote by AxSlngr

Used to do that.
Hated it.
Every now and then would come across an absolutely stellar amp, though.