Page 1 of 5
Hello UG

Some of you are teachers - not guitar teachers but actual teachers. I've seen a lot of people I know recently go into teaching and that is great, especially if they're passionate about it. Personally it's not for me but it'd be interesting to hear why you find teaching great and what brought you into it.

I've also recently seen one of my masters supervisors finish her PhD and become a teacher. I find this an odd decision to say at the least since it seems like a waste of resources and training in high level academic research at the cutting edge of science only to become a school teacher.

longing rusted furnace daybreak seventeen benign nine homecoming one freight car
I would love to be a teacher. That's my plan after my "main career" is exhausted
My God, it's full of stars!
I'm a teacher because it's part of a tuition waiver I get. I mean, I like it and all, but I wouldn't choose it as a profession. I talked to a guy who also got his M.A. in English, but he went into teaching. He said it was just year after year of trying to fix the same problems that never actually got fixed and he got really burnt out. He went into higher ed administration after that, which is also where I'd like to be.
Quote by Fat Lard
Why would you spend tens of thousands of dollars to learn about a language you already speak? It was over before it even started dude

Quote by captainsnazz
brot pls
I love teaching private lessons/tutoring. I feel like I'm really good at working individually with students but I've been in several classroom type environments and I just get extremely stressed and feel guilty if not all the students are understanding the material.
Some people find out too late that they like teaching.
Quote by Carmel
I can't believe you are whoring yourself out like that.

ಠ_ಠ
I think it would depend on what you are teaching, where and to whom, right?