Hi.
Okay, back story ;
I've been playing guitar for about 12 years. I'm 24 now. Ive played in bands an gigged but I can only read tab. I have no clue how to play in a key. Don't know scales. Can't read music. Can't write it.

My dream is to be able to pick up a guitar at a jam session and someone say ok we're playing slow blues in A, then I could play lead guitar over the top.

Ive been for lessons to learn theory but I struggle with the reading of written music and struggle even more with the idea of having to revert to basics even though I can already play to an advanced sounding level. I get really frustrated being able to play stuff like hotel california, you know, pretty advanced stuff, but then having to stop and learn how to read what E is on a stave.

I understand that this sounds immensely arrogant and possibly egotistical, so thanks for bearing with me.
I really just want to jam with some buddies. That's all I want out of guitar life.

I'm sick of having to memorise tabs.

I need advice please. What is the best way forward for me to get my head around playing properly?
Do I need to learn theory? Sit and learn scales? Keys? Put it down and start on piano?

Thanks for reading,

A very frustrated electrician having a quarter life crisis.
Quote by alexsmith
Hi.
Okay, back story ;
I've been playing guitar for about 12 years. I'm 24 now. Ive played in bands an gigged but I can only read tab. I have no clue how to play in a key. Don't know scales. Can't read music. Can't write it.

My dream is to be able to pick up a guitar at a jam session and someone say ok we're playing slow blues in A, then I could play lead guitar over the top.