I'm pretty new to recording outside of crappy handheld recorders so pardon the dumb question. But I just recently was gifted a Focusrite Scarlett Solo. Now I know I can plug my guitar straight into it. But my question is can I plug in my guitar with all my effects pedals into it? Or would I have to capture my amp with a mic if I want to use pedals?
But won't it sound like shit when you plug in straight into the audio interface? I'd recommend putting a microphone next to the amp and then record. But if I'm wrong, please correct me because this is all I know about this subject haha.
You'll need amp sim software or VST (guitar rig, pod farm, amplitube to name a few) to use with your interface unless you plan on micing your amp. You can put pedals in front of an interface though I've never liked the results and found VST effects to work better. Google is your friend on this one.
If you just want to record at home and not mess around with lots of cables and micing up and all that other stuff - which is frankly really annoying to do at home if you're not an experienced home studio - then here's my advice:

1. You've bought the Scarlett already (great, I love that thing)
2. Plug your guitar into the Scarlett
3. Buy Cubase 8 LE (https://www.steinberg.net/en/shop/buy_product/product/cubase-elements-8.html)
4. Set up Cubase with instructions found online
5. Cubase comes with something called the VST Rack, this is where you get amp models and effects
6. Play around with the presets until you find a tone you want to play with
7. Hit monitor and you can now hear your guitar with the desired tone

You don't want to be micing amps up at home because houses are noisey and amps are loud. The above allows you to cleanly record (with no buzzing or noise) with very little ease. The setup can be a bit stressful, and the learning curve for any DAW can be a little steep at first, but it's well worth it.