Hey guys, I have a dilemma here, so I'd like to hear some opinions. I plan to get myself an electric guitar, and start a classic hard rock band with my childhood mate. Here's the catch. I used to be classically taught in a school, where we had to grow fingernails. Now, my mentioned mate is self taught and can only play with the pick, and he says that there's simply no way I'll be able to play faster solos with fingers, and that pick is mandatory.

So? Learn how to play with a pick and you're set.

I know, but I'm lazy. :p I've been playing like this for almost 17 years (that is insanely over exaggerated considering I haven't actually played seriously for years now), but I'd like to hear what people think, and if there's a guru here that can nail Annihilator or Steve Vai's shredding solos using finger picking that could give an advice or two, or if I should just swallow it, lock myself in a basement with a healthy supply of picks and get to work.
A pick is not necessary, Wilko Johnson of Dr. Feelgood uses his fingernails and he rips off some pretty gnarly solos, like Milk and Alcohol.
I play steel guitar and banjo. Tell your mate I shred circles around him fingerpicking. Jeff Beck, Mark Knopfler, Chet Atkins, Jerry Reed, etc could all play circles around plenty of flatpickers, and more than fast enough for playing hard rock solos. For hundreds of years guys have been killing it on other fingerpicked instruments like balalaika, bağlama, dombra, pipa, shamisen, etc no problem.

Honestly that shouldn't be your big concern. From "I plan to get myself an electric guitar" it certainly sounds like you are implying that you have little to no experience with electric guitar, and that is a huge concern.