Im 18 and I've been playing acoustic/electric for a few years. I mostly play classic rock, as I'll just listen to a song and try to figure it out. If I cant, I will resort to the tab for it. I know some of my pentatonic scales, and I can improvise over some basic chords, but nothing special, just some nice jam sessions. I can't read sheet music, I don't know theory, and I have never written a song.

I read several posts similar to this, and there are just so many recommendations, and there are good and bad reviews about recommendations. Any more advice on where to read/write and learn music theory would be great.
Last edited by lleeoo66 at Jan 4, 2016,
I think the most important things to understand theory wise are keys and chord functions. Scale degrees/intervals are also good. Theory is there to give you explanations for sounds, so that it's easier to process the sounds you hear in your head and also understand what happens in other people's music. When learning about theory, remember to also use your ears. You want to know how the theoretic stuff sounds like.

How to write songs? You just need to get a musical idea. Do you hear sounds in your head? That's really how you get a musical idea. Well, you can get one by just noodling around with your guitar.

When you get a musical idea, try to play it on your guitar. If this is hard, just record yourself humming it. How to make it a full song? Well, look at how your favorite songs are structured. They may have a verse, a chorus, another verse, another chorus, a bridge, a guitar solo, another chorus. Something like that. That's a pretty common structure. Doesn't mean you have to use that. The main point is that your song has some kind of a structure and you understand what a structure is. You usually repeat the same idea a couple of times in the song to make it sound coherent. But there are also songs that progress all the time.