Please move if this ain't in the right forum... Not sure where else it could/should go.

A guitar luthier wants to hire me to record some audio for some of his new acoustic guitars. These will go up on his website to showcase and promote the guitars etc.

I'm a semi professional musician, how should I charge for this? Hourly or a flat rate? What would be an acceptable rate? Obviously I don't want to over charge for this since it's not an album recording session or anything but as you all know, a musician's time isn't free.

I know what I've charged for live performances in the past (a two-piece acoustic guitar duo I used to be in could command $500+ for two 45 minute sets) but I've never been hired for studio work before on the guitar - just drums, my other main instrument.

Thanks
An average rate for a beginner session musician would be $40-$60 an hour or $75-$100 per song. Even top Nashville guys don't make much more than that, maybe $150-200 an hour but they're booked all day 5-6 days a week, very lucrative business that way.
Quote by zackk
seriously though, listen to DaliLama.
Quote by Arthur Curry
My spidey sense tells me some mothafuckas are gonna be BANNED.
I wouldnt leave the house for less than $100. Ask yourself how much you think it will benefit his business, and how much that video is worth to him. If he sells 20 guitars because of your video, he could easily have made $50,000-100,000 on your labor

Consider royalties as well
$50/hr unless your name is Steve Vai or Robben Ford. Then it's probably an endorsement rather than just session work.
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY
Quote by Cajundaddy