Hi!

I've been playing guitar for almost 4 years. Mostly black metal stuff - no solos, just tremolo picking. I decided to expand my skills. I started to learn this solo, and as you can guess I failed miserably. I thought that if I will practice it over and over again, I will eventually build up the speed. Unfortunately I was wrong. Without any experience in playing such complicated and fast solos, I can only dream about playing this one.

I'm looking for a set of exercises which would allow me to gradually build up the speed, learn sweep picking etc. I think that having a list of GP files with names like "Level 1", "Level 2" etc. would be the best option for me. If I would have such set of files, I would be able to learn each level every few days. It would be highly motivating for me (learning each level in a certain amount of time).
Do you know where can I find something like this?
Quote by tomaszikaspercz
I think that having a list of GP files with names like "Level 1", "Level 2" etc. would be the best option for me.

I really don't think so. There's no "level" in shredding. It's not like "I'm going to practice this exercise for a couple of days to gain enough experience for shredding level 2". If I were you, I'd start looking into some simpler guitar solos and start with that, and gradually work towards more difficult ones. In a few years, you could probably pull that solo off.

If I would have such set of files, I would be able to learn each level every few days. It would be highly motivating for me (learning each level in a certain amount of time).

I don't like the mentality that you can't become a talented musician without 6 hours of practice a day for 12 years, tbh you can become a great guitarist for much less effort, but "a few days" is a bit unrealistic. As I said, I'd probably pick an easy solo, practice that for a few weeks until I could really play it clean and accurate. Then start working on some other solo.