I've been playing for a few years and I'm okay but I wanted to start taking lessons to get really good. Not just at guitar but with ear training and theory and all that. Anyway, my brother who's been playing longer than I have said it's a waste of time and money and that I can figure stuff out just by practicing a few different exercises and picking apart different songs. He took guitar/music theory lessons for about two years after playing for two or three and says they didn't really help. I don't really know what to think, so I thought I'd ask for other opinions. Would lessons really help or can I figure it out on my own?
Last edited by cowboy_jones at Jan 10, 2016,
You're brother is an idiot and yes, start lessons if you possibly can. You can figure it out yourself, maybe. But lessons will speed that process up very, very much.

EDIT: I can't fucking believe I wrote "you're" there I'm losing my grammar powers...
Quote by Jet Penguin
Theory: Not rules, just tools.

Quote by Hail
*note that by fan i mean that guy who wants his friends to know he knows this totally obscure hip band that only he knows about with 236 views on youtube. lookin' at Kev here
Last edited by Kevätuhri at Jan 10, 2016,