I've been playing shows for a few years now, but have never traveled farther than like 50 miles for one, so I'm excited to say that it looks like I'm gonna be hitting the road with my band! Going from Texas to Cali and back over 2 weeks, I believe it is, and I'm just wondering if anyone has any tips or anecdotal advice for being on the road for that long. I've been playing shows for a few years now, but have never traveled farther than like 50 miles for one so I want my first tour experience to be a good one. Nobody wants to make n00b mistakes and eff up the tour.
underdoghouse.bandcamp.com
I toured for about 3 years in my early twenties and overall it was a great learning experience. But it can also be a "best of times, worst of times" situation depending on the band dynamics. The first band I toured with was a constant power battle. Although I enjoyed the tour, the constant drama really drained me emotionally and often had an effect on our performances. Fortunately the next band I toured with had been doing it for some time and were much more professional..not to mention a lot more fun to do stuff with. We all became very tight as friends and I had a great time.

Just two weeks is pretty short, so you should be able to get along pretty well. Playing with bandmembers once or twice a week is very different from living with them. That's when the egos and individual personality flaws begin to show up. The more professional and disciplined everyone is, the more you'll all enjoy it. Everyone not taking things too seriously and having a good sense of humor makes an ENORMOUS difference.
The most important thing in my experience is: Make sure someone in your traveling party has a copy of every contract for each gig you have scheduled. Do not leave home without them no matter what anyone tells you. I can't emphasize this enough.

Expect interpersonal issues. They will happen. Just try and chill the situation as best you can.