I'm new to tube amps completely, im purchasing a Randall RD50 pretty soon here and wondering what cab to pair with it. I play metal/death metal stuff(think of lamb of god/parkway kinda tones) now like i said im new to tube amps i did alot of research before finding the rd50 however im pretty clueless on cabs. I've been looking at the Randall RG 212 cab http://www.zzounds.com/item--RANRG212?siid=124378 (i play at bedroom levels in an apartment 212 is enough). How is this cab and what are some other cab recommendations that might pair well with the tone im looking for and the amp im getting. Thank you!
The size of the cab won't affect volume as much as you think. I'd say save a bit more so you could get a quality cab with quality speakers. You could try something like this, though http://www.ampfactory.com/24s/
Squier Strat
Behringer Fuzz
GFT-90
We definitely need your budget and location to offer helpful insight. But I agree with baddie, it'd be better to save for a good cab. A lot of people don't realize how big of a deal the cab is and how much it affects your tone. A great amp will sound bad through a bad cab.
Quote by Jet Penguin
Theory: Not rules, just tools.

Quote by Hail
*note that by fan i mean that guy who wants his friends to know he knows this totally obscure hip band that only he knows about with 236 views on youtube. lookin' at Kev here
not volume in decibels, but it will affect perceived volume and prescence, bass response and "punch".

its the nebulus "pushing more air" effect of having more speakers and a bigger enclosure.

but in terms of volume in measurable, decibels (DB), then yes speakers matter far more. specifically, SPL sensitivity rating which is - given 1 watt of input power, the speaker will put out "X" decibels, and they increase exponetntially with input wattage.

so, s speaker that is 98 SPL (pretty standard).

wattage
1 = 98
2 = 103
4 = 106
8 = 109
16 = 112
32 = 115
64 = 118
128 watts = 121 decibels