I'm going to be taking one of my guitars to the shop to get it set up so I can learn slide, probably in Open G.

I know I need to have the action raised- one person has suggested not only raising it at the bridge, but also getting a taller nut.

Several times, I have seen reference to using heavier guage strings, like 12s or 13s. I'm cool with that.

Besides those steps and finding a proper size slide in a material that I like the sound of, is there anything else I need to do in terms of gear?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
If you plan on playing in the Spanish or standing position, don't alter the nut. It isn't necessary, and will make any fretting you do on the low frets difficult. You only need to raise the nut or use a conversion capo if you plan on playing lap style.

String gauges depend a fair bit on how light your touch is, and how high you set the action. I use 10-46 on electrics with a glass slide and 13-56 on acoustics with a heavy brass slide. My action isn't much higher than some would use for normal playing - about 1.6 to 2mm.

FWIW, I can get by with any thick-walled slide, glass, ceramic, metal, but thick-walled metal ones need some getting used to.
I have a gorilla grip, probably from decades of playing cello- heavier strings, higher action, no frets.

That said, my guitars are usually set up with fairly low action, and my standard tuned electrics are usually strung with 10s or 11s.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Look at this image closely

Gary Rossington during freebird.
Thats a piece of guitar cable under the strings there.
Whether he raise the bridge or not, I don't know.
He uses regular tuning, except the b string he tunes to the same g as the string above it.

As for me, I don't change a thing.