Hi there,

I've been playing guitar for around 4 years but I have noticed very little progression in the past couple of years and this year I want to start progressing further as a musician and player. I have set a couple of goals that I want to achieve

I want to be able to jam comfortably with other players so I would need a good level of theory

I also want to be able to play tremonti and alter bridge songs well so I think my technical ability would need improvement

Apart from this, can you guys recommend how else I can improve my playing and reach these goals?

Thanks
You learn to jam by jamming with other people. Do you ever play with other people? If not, join a band or just find some friends to play with. Also, learn songs by ear. You need a good ear to be able to jam with others. Because jamming is all about a "musical conversation" - you need to listen to others and react to their playing. That's what a good jam is about.

What may help with your technique is taking guitar lessons.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
Last edited by MaggaraMarine at Jan 17, 2016,
What is your current set of skills? What do you know about notes (scales come under this category), power chords, open chords, barre chords and jazz chords? These are the 5 things we do as guitarists technique wise.

Like MaggaraMarine mentioned playing with other musicians to also build your playing.
Visit my music school site for advice on gear, music theory and lessons.
www.essm.net.au