Hello, im new here, and im at my wits end here. So i have bought a Epiphone Dr100 as a starter guitar, after breaking my g string i bought some http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Gibson-Masterbuilt-Premium-Phosphor-Bronze-013-056-Acou-Bronze-/272014064457?hash=item3f554d3b49:g:x0oAAOSwu4BVkrtt as they where similar, all was fine, until a broke my d string which is when i decided to i may as well restring the whole thing as it wasnt sounding right. So its all strung but im getting some fret buzz, and im struggling to fix it. it is mainly on the A E strings but also on the d string. its on all frets but mainly on the top ones, the fret buzz is coming from when i press the string down it vibrates form the fret below it. Now i have moved the alan key inside. I'm new to guitar so this is annoying. now the annoying thing is that i bought another pack of these before i restrung the guitar as a spare set.
Any help is good help
Thanks
~James
Last edited by JamesHumphries4 at Jan 20, 2016,
the action could be set incorrectly. Perhaps you should take it to a luthier to calibrate the guitar.
Are you sure you replaced it with the same gauge strings?

You could put a shim under the nut to raise the action a little.
Quote by TobusRex

they feel slightly thicker, ill have a look at that now thanks
Quote by TobusRex

what would you use as a shim? if you put one under the bridge as i think it might help. i dont feel comfortable taking the nut off
]
Last edited by JamesHumphries4 at Jan 20, 2016,
Quote by JamesHumphries4
what would you use as a shim? if you put one under the bridge as i think it might help. i dont feel comfortable taking the nut off
]

I think you can use nearly anything as a shim. I saw comments about paper, cardboard, pieces of credit card, etc. I just suggested a shim because it's cheap and figured you might be able to save yourself a $50 setup fee. There are videos on youtube that take you through the process step by step.