I've been writing and singing for 3 years now. I have improved a TON in the past years, but I am still not singing with my "full voice." My guitar/voice teacher is working with me on my voice and tried to explain that you want to have as much air in you as possible and to sing with your diaphragm. I've noticed that breathing where your stomach goes out (aka breathing more w diaphragm, less with upper lung area something or another) you do have more air in you.

I need tips because I have a limited amount of time with my teacher. I have a true passion for playing and writing, I just want to get to my full voice soon.

Cheers!
Grace
I've never understood the either/or mentality. Your chest is a resonance chamber and so expanding it is crucial as well to developing a beefy 'low end.' Yes, breathe in with your diaphragm but continue to expand into the intercostal muscles (rib cage area) as well.

The problem gets into when you go extreme with it when you aren't ready. For now, just take in a decently deep breath through your belly and when you practice, work on expanding the amount of air you can comfortably contain.

The real trick is though, is what do you do with all this air? Well, for the most part, you hold it. Singing doesn't take near the effort you may think it does and it certainly doesn't take that much air. You are pulling in all that "extra" air as a means to enhance your resonance chamber.

Tips for accessing this easily: Lay on the floor. Stack books on your belly and then breathe out and see how high you can raise the books. This is isolated diaphragmatic breathing. Meditation helps as well as you can really focus on the area. In a very short period of time, this will become natural and your instructor will fix any problems you develop (if they don't suck).