Hello All , I am in the market to buy my first electric guitar, i have around $350 to spend.

I have looked at Squier Affinity's and, the Epiphone Les Paul Special 2. I have read/watched a lot of reviews and some say they are really good and some say they are terrible.

I am really confused on if they are good or bad, and was hoping to hear more from here, or of any other guitars that are good for beginners.

I have played my ex- girlfriends Fender Strat a few times and loved the feel of it, so iIwould prefer a guitar with a "fender-like" design.

I have also considered used guitars to get a better made guitar, but I wouldn't know what to look for, because on an electric I really don't know shit from toothpaste with the mechanics of it.

I have been playing for 5 months on my grandpa's half sized nova acoustic and it is very cramped to play now that I'm getting better and trying more difficult songs. I mostly play Classic rock, Blues and, Country.

Also the amp I'm looking at is the Fender Champion 20, is this a good choice?

Thanks ,

Will
If you want a strat-type guitar, I would advise either looking for a used Mexican made Fender Strat or the following link for a new option:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/search.php?s=squier+classic+vibe+stratocaster&Go=Search

The Classic Vibe series of Squier are excellent guitars in my opinion. I have a Classic Vibe P Bass and it is awesome. Any of those options should suit a beginner perfectly. As for the amp, I am not familiar with that but Fender generally makes good amps, though later on when you "learn the ropes" you will want a tube amp.
You should take a look at the Yamaha Pacifica as well. If possible, get into a store and have a go with some. Of anything in your price rage, really.
Quote by Dinglebuttz
If you want a strat-type guitar, I would advise either looking for a used Mexican made Fender Strat or the following link for a new option: