Page 1 of 2
I have played guitar for a year now, mostly on acoustic but I bought an electric guitar a couple of months ago. I love playing it and I rehearsed for about one hour every day until I thought I should change strings. Great idea!

So, I followed several guides and thought I took great care when I restringed it. But now it sounds like six cats assaulting each other when I play it! If I use a tuner on the computer and tune the strings so they are all within 1-2cent of "perfect" for each string, and then immediately play a chord, it sounds terrible! It is black magic, I tell you!

Even if I just play an A on the sixth string and pluck the fifth I can immediately hear that it is out of tune, even though the tuner says they should be within one cent of eachother. I am not a musical prodigy but I can guarantee you that the difference is much more than that. Playing it is completely terrible now, no matter how I try I just can't get it to play in tune.

It is a Fender Stratocaster, built in Mexico that I bought for roughly $1k or so. I don't know the exact model number but I found out that it has the "vintage" style tuners, so I had to check some guides on that. I have tried to read up to see if I could find any obvious mistake that I made but I can't really see anything, then again I don't really know what I am doing.

Should I take it to the shop? What could I have done to it? I feel terrible because I haven't rehearsed on it for several days now and I am afraid I messed it up somehow. Does anyone have any ideas what could have caused this? I can provide pictures or a video of it if necessary.

Thank you for your time!
do you still have the pack of strings you bought? Can you tell us the gauge written on it? Should be six numbers.

Are they acoustic strings?

The reason I ask is if you put MUCH heavier strings on a guitar, it might mess with the intonation. Don't worry, though, it's not permanent damage.