Hoi,

So until now I've only used my phone's recorder which doesn't suck but it really isn't the best
device for recording riffs etc. I have severals hours of recordings and I'd literally jump off a bridge should anything happen to them. I've been recording stuff on the phone (my current phone) since 2013 or so.

So could someone help me finding a recorder with which I can record my riffs/songs? I've been looking at this: http://www.thomann.de/gb/tascam_dr05.htm?ref=search_rslt_recorder_262604
And to be honest, I don't know anything about these recorders; are they any good, how many hours can the recorders "hold" on average etc.

My budget is max 100€ so I don't think we'll get anything too fancy. Also, if I was to record something as a full band, would the particular recorder suffice? For example if I wanted to record a demo and perhaps send it to someone for example a label, would the quality be good enough? Or if I wanted to go as big as making a demo and send it to a label, should I be ready to pay a lot more than 100€?

But obviously the primary thing I'm looking for is a good recorder to record my riffs and other material and even be able to hear everything clearly unlike with a phone's recorder.

I'll also be buying the recorder from the particular site, so if you have any other recommendations, they should be on that site.
Last edited by Billie_J at Jan 28, 2016,
The audio files will be larger based on the quality and whether you are saving uncompressed WAV files or MP3s. . 44.1Khz at 16-bit is probably the minimum that you want to use.You can get an estimate for the file sizes here - http://www.theaudioarchive.com/TAA_Resources_File_Size.htm

I would look for a recorder that has a SD card so you can easily expand the recording space and also transfer the files to your PC easily if you want.