I bought a pack of guitar picks a couple months back,

All I've really used up to this point is that small red Jazz III pick.
I've noticed that many of the picks are different sizes, some are sharp, others aren't, and they are all made with different materials.

I've tried all of them on the same Amp and guitar settings on my MH50, but have not heard much a difference.

So, does pick size/shape/material make a difference? or are they just something of personal preference?

------------

Also I've noticed around online that (I forget which was which) the neck and bridge humbucker pickups sound "brighter" or "darker".

What does that actually mean?

Thanks
-Parac
It makes a difference in your attack and on certain techniques, but it is one of the more subtle effects on your playing. Pick choice is mostly about the player's comfort.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
They do sound different though, for instance I don't like Jazz IIIs because I find the material to produce gross sounds. On the flip sides, V-Picks seem to have a chirpy and crisp attack.

My favorite material is Tortex.

How much of this is psychosomatic is probably more than I would like to admit.
"If you're looking for me,
you better check under the sea,
because that's where you'll find me..."
Last edited by DeathByDestroyr at Jan 29, 2016,
Quote by Parac
Also I've noticed around online that (I forget which was which) the neck and bridge humbucker pickups sound "brighter" or "darker".

Here is a bright, and some would say, 'jangly' tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WW21rcHiVU0

This is a darker, thicker, fuzzier tone : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKPicUnsPPg

Edit: the levels of distortion are different, so it isn't a perfect example, but hopefully the idea comes through.
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not