Hi, I've been playing for about a month, and I'm fiddling with my guitar position. I'm trying to figure out the best angle of the guitar with respect to my body. When I look at videos of instructors who hold the guitar in the normal position (in my case, on my right leg for right-handed strumming), they seem to hold the guitar almost parallel to their body. I have a high-volume dreadnaught, and it's quite a reach over the top of the guitar if I want to get my palm close to the strings, and it puts strain on my right shoulder. I find it much more comfortable if I angle the guitar neck forward, perhaps 30 degrees or so. That allows the guitar to neatly tuck under my arm, and there's no strain on my shoulder.

I'm guessing that the answer is going to be something along the lines of "do whatever works best for you", but as a beginner, I'd like to know what other people do, and what the trade-offs are, if any.

Thanks!
Wrong section. Try the Guitar Techniques section.

I'll give you my $0.02 before you go off. Yeah, do whatever works for you. There are trade-offs to improve your technique and there are "proper" ways to hold your guitar, but none of that helps you if you're uncomfortable.
Free Ali
Free Lard
I think angling the neck forward a bit would be okay because it doesn't really change the way your wrist has to be positioned.

What you don't want is for the neck to be pointing down towards the floor. That makes it really hard to play but some beginners tend to do this because they have trouble seeing their fingers on the fret board.
The most "correct" position is classical style: the side of the guitar body resting on left leg, the tail end of the guitar supported by the right leg, angled upward a little. Preferably with something to prop your left foot on so it's a little higher.