Hi, I've been playing for about a month, and I'm fiddling with my guitar position. I'm trying to figure out the best angle of the guitar with respect to my body. When I look at videos of instructors who hold the guitar in the normal position (in my case, on my right leg for right-handed strumming), they seem to hold the guitar almost parallel to their body. I have a high-volume dreadnaught, and it's quite a reach over the top of the guitar if I want to get my palm close to the strings, and it puts strain on my right shoulder. I find it much more comfortable if I angle the guitar neck forward, perhaps 30 degrees or so. That allows the guitar to neatly tuck under my arm, and there's no strain on my shoulder.

I'm guessing that the answer is going to be something along the lines of "do whatever works best for you", but as a beginner, I'd like to know what other people do, and what the trade-offs are, if any.

Thanks!
Whatever is comfortable and allows you to play whatever you want. I frequently change positions when I get tired of holding it a certain way and I've been playing for 10+ years.

Invest in a good strap and wear it even when sitting down, and it'll free you from having to constantly keep your guitar from falling on the floor. Also, the chair you're sitting in makes a huge difference, and arm rests frequently get in the way. Look for a comfortable chair without armrests, that has adjustable height so you can tailor it specifically for yourself. Really makes a difference. A stool is good, but recommend something with a back rest.
I originally posted the above question in the wrong section, and got some feedback from people.