Page 1 of 2
Okay I'm fairly new to guitar and I stumbled across this video
http://youtu.be/VYiL8G6yooE

I really don't agree with this "cheat", but it got me thinking "why should I continue trying to learn the standard chord shapes if I can just barre them? It's kinda depressing tbh
So I thought I'd ask what you all think?

Can you really do every chord in this tuning using just barre shapes? How about power chords and regular barre chords?

Also what are the pros and cons of learning guitar in this tuning?

Thanks.
open g. the tuning of choice for bottleneck slide and keith richards.

should you use it? who knows. broaden your horizons maybe?..
Quote by ad_works
open g. the tuning of choice for bottleneck slide and keith richards.

should you use it? who knows. broaden your horizons maybe?..

As I said, I'm fairly new to guitar. What I understood from that video was that you can play every chord just by barring the frets. If that's the case then why do people still use standard tuning? Why should one learn to play "standard" chord shapes over open g shapes?
Last edited by Fenderinooo at Feb 1, 2016,
Open tunings generally make for awkward scales, since the strings will be either too close in pitch or too far apart to be play up and down a scale in a single position without repeating or skipping notes. A major key open tuning like this is also liable to make minor chords awkward, as one string will need to be fretted lower than all the others. Likewise seventh chords, diminished chords etc. In short, it impedes playing melodies and is not always hugely versatile for chords. Not to mention that it'll compel you to use the same chord voicings for everything, which will sound incredibly boring.