Hey all:

I have been playing guitar for about 15 years and I am ready to purchase my first Fender Stratocaster. I have always wanted to own one and to tell the truth, it has been my dream guitar since my favorite guitarists play them. I was looking into it and there are just so many version of the strat. To buy new or look for old is an idea as well. I am just looking for advice since I am not sure what to choose.

My price range tops out at about $2500.

Thanks!
I know that the American Standard will give you their most run-of-the-mill guitars with the best features; I very much enjoy mine.
Skip the username, call me Billy
My best advice: Specs and price don't matter that much. Play a bunch of them and buy the one that speaks to you. When you find the right one, you will know.
Quote by Cajundaddy
My best advice: Specs and price don't matter that much. Play a bunch of them and buy the one that speaks to you. When you find the right one, you will know.

I definitely agree. Tried mine out on 3 different occasions before buying it, and I loved the way it felt.
Skip the username, call me Billy
Dude for $1200 - $1500 you can get a used Eric Johnson signature. Hard to beat.

Also explore Suhr, and Nash guitars. Fender is just a name. .

And what Cajun said.
Quote by Bass Builder
Dude for $1200 - $1500 you can get a used Eric Johnson signature. Hard to beat.

Also explore Suhr, and Nash guitars. Fender is just a name. .

And what Cajun said.

Or G&L, since that's the company Leo Fender started after the buyout.
Harmony: Stratocaster
Alvarez: F-200
Schecter: Omen 6
Fender: BXR-60
Dean: Metalman Z Bass (Betty)
Egnator: Tweaker 15
Pearl: Maximum
ESP/LTD: EXP-300
Custom: Harley Quinn Bass
Custom: TK-421 Explorer
A steadily growing supply of pedals
So many combinations and given your price range you'll have a lot of fun trying out a hundred different models. As said above, try out a bunch using the amp you use at home and see what feels/sounds right.
Quote by Cajundaddy