Page 1 of 2
Hey guys. I have been playing guitar for about 5 years now. I am way better than all the guitarists I've met (not saying this because of my ego, I just am) But I have hit a plateau and haven't improved for months, and I want to get really good as fast as possible (preferably without lessons). Can anyone tell me practice routines and techniques to get exceptionally good as fast as possible. By the way, don't think I am asking for a "Master Guitar Easy" type of thing. I am willing to put in the work. I just don't know where to start. Also, contrary to popular belief with the people I have met before, I don't just want to get better at guitar to impress girls. I actually care, but all that aside, advice?
Practice
Quote by zgr0826
My culture is worthless and absolutely inferior to the almighty Leaf.

Quote by JustRooster
I incurred the wrath of the Association of White Knights. Specifically the Parent's Basement branch of service.
How many guitarists have you met? 7? 8?
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
The fastest way to get better at guitar is to continue playing your guitar. Learn some songs you like and apply those techniques that you picked up from learning those songs to learn harder songs or start writing your own shit. Guitar Pro is a helpful tool, use it.
It's not something you can rush. You can only practice more often. Like practicing an hour a day instead of 10 minutes.

Also, when learning a song, be sure you're learning the technique used rather than getting it right note to note. You still want to get the notes right, but if you don't emphasize learning the technique, you'll only make slower progress. I think people who try to learn too fast tend to have this problem.
Quote by snipelfritz
You lost me at "Lubricate."

I'm raw, like nature. Nature boy. Big jungle leaves are my cum rags.

Sometimes I fuck a bamboo shoot.

There's nothing left here to be saved
Just barreling dogs and barking trains