Im looking to buy my first tube amp and I dont want to spend more than 600 dollars. Im mainly looking at the Fender Blues jr and the Vox Ac15. But The Hughes and Kettner tubemeister 18 has peaked my interest as well. Im in a sort of shoegazey band, but I play lots of different things except country and metal. I was hoping to get some of your guy's opinions on practice tube amps!

Thanks!
-Samuel
Also consider Carvin.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I looked at both amps and some others and decided on the blues Jr with the nos Jensen speaker. You can't go wrong. People seem to love the blues Jr or hate them. Some say it's only a proper amp after mods. I have played it stock since I got it a few years ago. To me it's a good all around practice amp. Just depends on what sounds good to your ears.

Have you played through these amps before?
I have, I liked them both, I preferred the sound of the of the Vox a little bit, but its bigger and heavier, also it is about 100 dollars more expensive.
Is it worth the extra 100 and the extra weight to you?

If so go for it. You can't go wrong especially if it sounds good to you.
Vox, Traynor, Carvin, Fender, H and K...why haven't I been in this yet?!?

All of these are awesome, to the best of my remembering

-Sharky
Bigger? Heavier? Are you gigging with it? If so, just get a handtruck to wheel it around with. Or look into getting casters for it. And $100, over the lifetime of an amp, is such a minimal cost. If you have played both and liked the Vox better, I say go for the Vox. I've got an AC30 and love it, FWIW. If you can eek out that extra hundo, do it. Eat ramen for a week, or something.

Good luck.
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Highway One Telecaster
Dean Evo
Mesa F-50
Laney GH50L
Vox AC30 C2
Ampeg V2
pedals