Hi, I've been playing guitar for a few years but I'm not very good at it, mainly because every time I try to play power chords, I tend to use a lot of strength with my indicator so that the strings don't become silent (I dunno how to say it in english) but in turn, this causes my wrist to hurt a lot, even at the beginning of the play session. This happens with songs that use different power chords very quickly, like, for example, I'll Stick Around (Foo Fighters). I know what you might be thinking: but that song isn't that fast, and you're right, it really isn't. But I just can't play it, my wrist hurts too much.
Thanks.
Also, if your hand can be more relaxed while also gripping well, that might help. Comfortability and all. I remember having the wrist and forearm pains before from just playing so wonky and badly. Fixed well when repositioning.

-Sharky
Do you play guitar standing up? How low do you have your guitar?
I heard from some friends of mine that the lower you have your guitar, the more likely your wrist will hurt...
I sometimes do, for events and benefits and such.

Almost 8 years now.

Yes, I can vouch that the lower-strapped guitars make one hurt more due to just overall stretching and strains
Try keeping your wrist semi-straight. You may need to change the way you hold your guitar to do this. I've found that for me personally, holding the neck close to my left ear(I'm right handed), lets me fret notes with a very straight relaxed wrist. This isn't practical all the time though, but the more you tilt that way, the easier, within reason. You may need to shorten up your strap, and tilt your guitar a little this way. Experiment with many different ways of angling the guitar until you find one that feels best.

It's really hard to diagnose without some sort of picture or video though.
Quote by bruno_xfs