I finally got around to building a partscaster after the parts had been sitting around for a while. I followed a diagram from fender itself (3 p/up, 1 vol, 2 tone 5 way switch)
my problem is not in my soldering itself, as I am a vehicle mechanic, and can solder.

however, when the vol knob is in between 0 and 10, I have a real bad hum. at 0 and 10, it's minimal, such as a normal single coil hum. I was wondering if any of you have had a similar fault? cap on tone know to wrong lug or something? I don't know.

cheers guys!
Quote by element4433
One time I watched a dog lick his own dick for twenty minutes.

Quote by Roc8995
No.

Well, technically it could be done, but only in the same way that you could change a cat into a hamburger. It's an unpleasant process, and nobody is happy with the result.
describe the hum, the first question I always ask is does it go away when you touch anything metal , by the way if you can take a photo i'll see what kind of tones you have so I can help. If the schematic is based off of a fender strat as in both tones do the same thing this is what you want to go with.

but of course this is for a tone in the middle and neck positions only like classic strats and Ibanez RG style guitars, however if you have a more exotic harness send me a message and I'll help you out.

with this photo though regardless of a 3 pickup combination grounding doesn't change. I tend to ground pickups on the switch itself which on some guitars where the switch is a "mile" away this really comes in handy.

but pretty much
*ground is pot to pot a straight trail down
*the input jack should go to sleeve
*the strings should be grounded
*the pickups bare wires / south starts (on 4 wire pickups) should be grounded to the back of the pot