Hey guys, I've been playing guitar for a few years (3 1/2), playing jazz/fusion/rock/soul/indie/etc, and I have seen myself grow as a musician, but one area I seem to lack in is animating my progressions/solo's etc. By animating I mean creating a strong visual for the listener. When I listen to my favorite artists I can create a vivid visual of their personalities, but I feel as if I am not able to make riffs and licks in such a fashion. Does anybody have any advice on this? Obviously there is the probability that I am over thinking this, however, I thought i'd poke your guy's brains lol.
Quote by jerrykramskoy
Why visual? Why noy aural or surely more importantly, emotional response?

You have a good point, however, when I feel emotional about something strong visuals tend to follow.
Thing is ... you say you want to impact your listener, and different folk react very differently. For example. sound people talk about "It looks to me like ...", whereas others may say "it sounds to me like ...", or "feels to me like ... IN other words, not eveyone is visually driven. But, short of brain injury or illness, everyone's emotional network functions strongly, havinga lot to do with our behaviour.

Do you really mean you want a listener to conjure up mental imagery as a result of listening to your music? I have no clue how to do that ... but I do know how to create emotional response from my music (good and bad!)

Or do you mean you want to visually appealing to an audience?
Last edited by jerrykramskoy at Feb 14, 2016,