Hi, I'm posting this here rather than the Vocals sub-forum because I think it applies not only to vocal technique, but rather the part vocals play within a band or performance/musical setting.

So, as a guitar player/song writer I've kind of always thought singing wasn't my strength, that I was better off leaving it to the "singers". But what I've came across in my experience in bands/jam sessions is most "singers" I've played with aren't the trained/technical singers, they just got that confidence that they can do it.

My question for the singers is, do you rely solely on confidence to push your vocal performance? I know doing scale warmups, proper breathing technique, and diaphragm technique is important, but I see these things as supplements or being supportive to an already great voice. I kind think of it like a guitar players finger warm ups or scale practice, it makes the fingers move easier and loosened up, but if you don't know how to play the songs, you can do warm ups for a week, its not going to help you play the actual song.

As I said, I'm not a natural singer so this is something I'm working towards (making my voice better). I always wrote lyrics to my music but handed the singing duties off to someone else (again, usually not fantastic singers), but what the heck, if they can do it, I can too.

I want to know if theres anybody out there who was able to take a not-so natural singing voice, and improve it to the point of being able to go out and play live/record music. What are some of your approaches to vocals? When did you notice your vocals started sounding good?

Cheers
Last edited by Humbug808 at Feb 15, 2016,
Hey man, great question. For myself I've never liked the sound of my own voice but a key thing here was learning timbre.